Task Force on Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence

About the Task Force

The Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence Task Force convened for an intense period of work in April 2021. Its six committees representing Work and Study constituencies and Equity Deserving Racialized Groups has put forward 54 recommendations in its final report, which is now available.

The Task Force was created as part of the response to UBC’s commitment to build a more inclusive university community. The work of the Task Force is supported by the Office of the President and the Co-Executive Leads for Anti-Racism.



Dr. Handel Kashope Wright

Dr. Wright is the Senior Advisor to the President on Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence and a Professor in the Department of Educational Studies in the Faculty of Education. He is also Director of the Centre for Culture, Identity and Education.

His work focuses on continental and diasporic African cultural studies, critical multiculturalism, anti-racist education, qualitative research, and cultural studies of education. Dr. Wright’s current research examines postmulticulturalism, youth identity, and belonging in the Canadian context.

Dr. Shirley Chau

Dr. Chau is an Associate Professor in the School of Social Work in the Faculty of Health and Social Development at UBC Okanagan and current Chair of the Race Ethnic and Cultural Issues (RECI) Caucus as well as a member of the Board of Directors at the Canadian Association of Social Work Education (CASWE).

An experienced practitioner and teacher of social work practice methods, her research interests in social work practice include racialized populations, social and socioeconomically disadvantaged populations, and interprofessional health service programming and delivery to minoritized individuals and groups.

Photo credit: Bernadette Jarrard


Work and Study

  • Faculty Committee
    Chair: Dr. Ryuko Kubota
  • Staff Committee
    Chair: Dr. Maryam Nabavi
  • Student Committee
    Co-Chairs: Binta Sesay and William Shelling

Equity Deserving Racialized Groups

  • Indigenous Committee
    Chair: Dr. Donna Kurtz
  • Black Committee
    Chair: Lerato Chondoma
  • People of Colour Committee
    Chair: Dr. Dixon Sookraj

Faculty Membership

Dr. Ninan AbrahamUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Abraham
Dr. Sunaina AssanandUBC Vancouver
Dr. Samia KhanUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Khan
Dr. Ryuko KubotaUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Kubota
Dr. Donna KurtzUBC OkanaganRead more about Dr. Kurtz
Dr. Gabrielle LegaultUBC Okanagan
Dr. Minelle MahtaniUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Mahtani
Dr. Nuno PortoUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Porto
Dr. Dixon SookrajUBC OkanaganRead more about Dr. Sookraj
Dr. Margo TamezUBC OkanaganRead more about Dr. Tamez

Staff Membership

Saher AhmedUBC OkanaganRead more about Saher
Rohene BouajramUBC VancouverRead more about Rohene
Lauren (Ilaanaay) CaseyUBC VancouverRead more about Lauren (Ilaanaay)
Lerato ChondomaUBC VancouverRead more about Lerato
Tiffany Mintah-MutuaUBC Vancouver
Maki NatoriUBC Vancouver
Dr. Maryam NabaviUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Nabavi
Dr. Joenita PaulrajanUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Paulrajan
Laura PradaUBC Okanagan
Emi SasagawaUBC VancouverRead more about Emi
Dr. Dana SolomonUBC VancouverRead more about Dr. Solomon
Velia Altamira VazquezUBC Vancouver

Student Membership

Oluwaseun AjajaUBC VancouverRead more about Oluwaseun
Stephanie Awotwi-PrattUBC OkanaganRead more about Stephanie
Tamasha HusseinUBC Vancouver
Rabaab KhehraUBC VancouverRead more about Rabaab
(Rodney K. Little Mustache)
UBC VancouverRead more about Maistoo’awaastaan
Zamina MithaniUBC VancouverRead more about Zamina
Jason RemediosUBC OkanaganRead more about Jason
Binta SesayUBC OkanaganRead more about Binta
William ShellingUBC VancouverRead more about William
Tashia KootenayooUBC Okanagan

Support Team

Parmida EsmaeilpourUBC VancouverGraduate Research Assistant
Tori Chief CalfUBC VancouverNotetaker
Pengcheng FangUBC VancouverNotetaker
Keitumetse MalatsiUBC VancouverNotetaker


For information on UBC’s equity and inclusion efforts or further details related to the past work of the Anti-Racism and Inclusive Excellence Task Force, please contact the UBC Equity & Inclusion Office at info@equity.ubc.ca.